Cranberry-Walnut Pumpkin Loaves

In the end, this was a terrific bread that everyone loved. To make it was easy but storing overnight in the refrigerator held a surprise for me.

I started the bread at 8:30 in the morning and had reached the point in the directions to ‘wrap it tightly in plastic and refrigerate overnight’ (page 109.) This was Step 13. The directions were a little vague – especially if one reads ahead.  I wasn’t certain if I should wrap the dough or place the dough in the bowl and wrap the bowl because, as we all know, the dough rises in the refrigerator. AND in the following paragraph, the sentence begins for Step 14: ‘leave the dough, covered in its bowl. . . ‘ (also page 109). Does this mean that the dough was already in the bowl?

The directions befuddled me. All I knew at this point was that that dough had to be in the frig overnight. So I took the path that wrapped the dough in plastic wrap, placed it in the bowl, and put it in the frig at about 11:00 in the morning.  Well, here’s what happened. . .

I am not a great sleeper and sure enough, I woke up at 1:00 in the morning. Slipped out of bed to read (am reading “Dragonwyck” by Anya Seton – and read that the main character burns her bread.) Anyway, I thought I would check on the dough in the plastic wrap in the the bowl in the frig. I could not believe what I saw.

The Dough had busted a gut. It had popped through that plastic wrap like the Blob (in the Steve McQueen movie, The Blob, 1958*), and it was oozing out of its plastic wrap with unbridled abandon! It had developed a tougher skin because it had dried slightly at the broken seam, so I knew then I it was time for Step 14. I counted the hours – about 15 – that the dough had been in the frig, thinking, the Dough doesn’t know it hasn’t been in the frig overnight and 15 hours would seem a reasonable time for an overnight. Right? Right.

Well, I took the next steps with the Dough as described on page 109 and went about making the bread throughout the night and into the morning. (I got a good chunk of the book read while doing so.) And, the bread turned out perfect. It doesn’t need butter nor cheese. The cranberries were tart and the raisins were sweet. It’s wonderful as toast and everyone loved it.

Sliced C-W P loaf

*Note:  The 1958 version of The Blob is, in my opinion much better than the 1980’s version; however, the 80’s version has its merits.

This blog is dedicated to my foodie pup, Sam, who stole my cherry gallette just weeks ago. Sam passed away peacefully in my arms after a short, but aggressive cancer on September 20, 2012. Sam was a foodie, preferring gorgonzola cheese and avacados to regular dog food. He could cruise counters with the quietness of a stealth bomber and was able to open the frig, cheese drawer and hold parties for the other dogs. (We got a lock.) He always stayed with me while I cooked, baked and struggled with recipes. I missed him so during this baking project. 

6 responses to this post.

  1. Hilarious! I was confused also…I guess thankfully I opted to put it in the bowl ha ha!

    Reply

  2. So sorry to hear about Sam. He sounds like one special, and talented pup. Thanks for sharing your thoughts.

    Reply

  3. Thanks for sharing. Sam surely would have loved this recipe. Sorry for your loss.

    Reply

  4. Fun post! One wonders what goes on in the fridge at night?? I’m sorry about your dog, our golden lab of 14 years passed last month. We miss her!

    Reply

  5. I too was befuddled by the directions. I opted to leave the bread in the bowl and cover the bowl. Guess that was a good call hey? Your bread looks great! Sorry for your loss of Sam…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

