Rugelach

What a disaster! Every mistake that I could make, I did! I didn’t roll the dough out thin enough. Didn’t the recipe indicate not to be afraid of the thickness? So I wasn’t afraid, but my techniques were jack poor when I started to roll the rugelach with the filling. Then I burnt the first batch – I wasn’t certain what the directions meant by a ‘prepared pan.’ I know now and saved batch 2-4. Still, they fell apart while baking and the cookie dough was, well, doughy. I got maybe 10 good cookies. But the sum of my mistakes added up to poor taste. This was a big fat mess for me. Still, I got a lot of experience, reflected and came up with alternatives to my mistakes and I was able to list all the things I did do right (I won’t put the list here as it might be way too long for the readers!) 🙂

Unlike the tartlets, I won’t try this one again. The rolling of the dough, I will get more experience doing pie crusts. This was not a success! Hope others have a better experience.

21 responses to this post.

  1. Mine didn’t turn out well at all either, though they did taste good. I won’t try these again but, like you, appreciate the experience 😀

    Reply

  2. It is so disappointing when things don’t turn out the way they are supposed to. Especially in baking, where you have invested a bit of money along with your time. Sorry it didn’t work out for you.

    Reply

  3. Experience is always great, next time I’m sure it’ll turn out better!!! Would love to see some pictures!

    Reply

  4. SORRY!

    Mine were not pretty, but they did taste good. At least something was right, correct?

    I will say, i’d be interested in that list! I definitely know I filled mine up way to much. I also think a tip I read about freezing the log would have made the cookies easier to cut. But, we learn, right?

    Sorry they turned out not how you wanted, especially because of the amount of work they require to put in. I appreciate you HONESTY in how they came out, but I bet they were better than you describe =)

    Reply

  5. Aww, so sorry you had troubles with it!

    Reply

  6. These were difficult! Mine didn’t turn out looking very good either. Not something I’m likely to do again, but it was very educational. 🙂

    Reply

  7. Man, mine were a big hot mess too! I loved the dough, but I think I must have overfilled, they came completely unrolled in the oven and I had to try to re-roll them after wards. Hot mess!

    Reply

  8. I’m sorry to hear these didn’t go well or you. I found the instructions pretty confusing.

    Reply

  9. I had the same experience. It was all a big mess in the pan, but I scraped it out and ate it–it was so good!

    Reply

  10. They were a bit tricky and mine didn’t come out as nice as I had hoped. Had all the same issues are you… It’s all about learning.

    Reply

  11. I am learning as I go too! It’s fun to try new things in the kitchen!

    Reply

  12. shoot–i can get awfully annoyed when my kitchen projects don’t work out, but sounds like you’ve got it all in perpective. hope the next recipe works better!

    Reply

  13. Posted by Wendy on March 6, 2012 at 7:43 pm

    Oh no! I;m sorry they didn’t work out for you.

    Reply

  14. Sorry you had such a rough time. Although, I am sure everyone of us could tell you a disaster story 😉
    Hopefully, the soda bread will be a more positive experience for you – although, it sounds like you kept in pretty good spirits with this week’s adventure.

    Reply

  15. oh bummer! sorry to hear it didn’t work out for you, but it happens to the best of us. don’t get discouraged 🙂

    Reply

  16. I’ve had my share of kitchen disasters. I get so frustrated after spending time and effort to end up with something that doesn’t turn out great. I’m glad you found a silver lining and 10 good cookies.

    Reply

  17. I’m sorry your experience wasn’t a pleasant one 😦 I too had difficulty working with the dough and wasn’t pleased with my end result. I’m not one to be defeated though, so I gave it another go, using the knowledge I gained from round 1, as well as a Nutella filling rather than fruit. My second try came out a lot better 🙂

    Reply

  18. That’s too bad, but keep on baking!

    Reply

  19. Mine were a big fat mess too! I spent so much money on ingredients that I was pretty upset to not have a pretty picture for my blog Tuesday. I’m actually quite good with pie dough, been making pies for about 17 years now. For me there was just too much filling and the instructions were confusing, saying these are “overstuffed”, well – yeah. They were a mess. In the end, I didn’t think the taste was worth the effort.

    Reply

  20. I’m sorry this recipe didn’t work for you – soldier on, fellow baker!

    Reply

  21. Posted by Beverly Winchester on March 9, 2012 at 12:32 pm

    Yes, I probably make every mistake possible in the kitchen; but I do always learn from it & enjoy myself. I am an unmitigated disaster with tart doughs- each one is a ??
    Keep it up- your successes will outnumber your booboos!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

