Irish Soda Bread – it can last more than a few hours

I loved the Irish Soda Bread recipe. The directions were clear (there were a few problems with interpretation in the rugalach recipe) and I was able to make the bread two hours (counting set up time and break down). My bread turned out with on very crunchy crust and a dense and delicate bread. I added raisins to my bread and the burst of sweetness is a perfect balance.

I don’t know why I did this but I did add the raisins before the buttermilk. This, I think, distributed the raisins more quickly. Not sure if this is so, but I have a nice distribution of raisins throughout the finished bread.

My husband and I ate the bread with cabbage soup – made with dark green swiss chard and carrots – to represent the flag of Ireland. It was filling and a really good meal.

One thing that did bother me and I did overcome was the statement about how the bread would turn ‘hard as a blarney stone’ in a few hours. THIS DOES NOT HAVE TO HAPPEN! My husband and I were not going to finish that bread off in one sitting or even in a few hours. Sooooo – I wrapped the leftover bread (and there was a lot) in a damp paper towel and placed it in a zip lock plastic bag. Then into the frig. Today, about 20 hours later, I pulled it out and we had it for lunch. Perfectly find (with a bit of the crustiness gone, though). Anyway, we both ate a slice cold and a slice that had been warmed in the toaster oven – either way was fine.

We’ll see if it is still as good tomorrow. If not, most has been eaten and enjoyed.

Happy St. Patrick’s Day and ‘May the sun always shine on your face and the wind always be at your back!’ (or something of the kind!)

Kristine

Leave a Reply

