Blueberry Nectarine Pie

Blueberry Nectarine Pie with smile and odd center piece

Blueberry Nectarine Pie with smile and odd center piece

This was easy! I loved having a two part task – first the pie crust and then the filling. I decided to stick with the pie crust recipe in the book but I have to admit that I wasn’t all that comfortable with it. I have always used the King Arthur cook book pie crust recipe and I’ve always felt successful with that recipe. However, I went with this one and, I think, I did okay. I made the dough for the crust two days ahead.

The filling was easier, of course. I went to a farm stand and bought freshly picked nectarines and blueberries. After reading everyone’s comments about how runny the filling was, I decided to use only one really juicy nectarine and the rest were hard (as I like to eat them). I then cut the sugar in half and used a bit more flour than called for. Oh and I dotted with lots of butter. I left the pie to cool and guarded with lots of plates, pots and pans and other items around the pie to deter counter cruising pooches (the hounds are as tall as the counter).

The result was terrific. Although the picture looks like the pie was underdone, it wasn’t (just poor photographing skills).  I even tried to get creative with extra pie crust dough and make a center piece. I hoped that my ‘juices’ would emerge from the center – instead I got a smile.  That’s all good too because instead of a pie that looks like an erupting volcano, I have a smiley face. (Well, it looks like that to me!)

My husband (without asking for compliments or criticisms) offered that it was too sweet. I said it was not. So we differed and I didn’t fish for compliments. They came naturally.

What would I do differently? I would add cinnamon.

A Slice of Blueberry Nectaring Pie

A Slice of Blueberry Nectarine Pie

9 responses to this post.

  1. I like your idea of adding cinnamon. I have always had a fear of crust, but found this one to be tasty, so I will try it again.

    Reply

  2. Your pie looks lovely. Cinnamon always adds a nice touch! My mother-in-law adds it to her spaghetti sauce. 🙂

    Reply

  3. Posted by Teresa on August 1, 2012 at 1:23 pm

    We added a little cinnamon and nutmeg to ours and it was just what it needed. Speaking of tall dogs, my family’s had Irish Wolfhounds since I was a kid. However, we got schooled by one of the first ones, when my mother left some steaks to finish thawing on the counter – the dog managed, within the space of a few minutes, to get the packages, neatly slit them open, extract and eat the steaks, and leave the empty packages in a neat pile on the floor. So, I can relate to the need for blocking off your pie from hungry hounds.

    Reply

  4. I’m a cinnamon and vanilla addicted…
    Your pie looks beautiful. I like the crust.

    Reply

    • Thank you! The little center piece was an after thought. My crusts are usually lopsided! But I will get it!

      Kristine Mika

      ________________________________

      Reply

  5. Mmm!! Cinnamon sounds like a great addition. I’ll have to try that. I love the smile in the pie. It’s like the pie is talking to you. In my head the pie’s saying…Eat me…eat me… 😀

    Reply

    • Thanks for visiting! I got another response to the cinnamon and they suggested a touch of nutmeg, too! Sounds good!

      Kristine Mika

      ________________________________

      Reply

  6. Posted by Emily on August 6, 2012 at 8:11 pm

    I did not know about this blog. You have inspired me to get my oven fixed! Maybe a splash of lemon juice might cut the sweetness a bit. I love blueberries and nectarines especially hard nectos! I’m gonna try this!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

