Corn, Chile, and Cheese Quesadillas

Corn, childe and cheese quesadillas with summer squash

Corn, chile, and cheese quesadillas with summer squash

I took a leap of faith and tried Quesadillas. The recipe I found in “Cooking Fresh” magazine (Spring 2012, pp95) seemed easy enough – just lots of ingredients. It is labeled vegetarian and quick (under 30 minutes). It took me longer but I was being really careful with my steps. I have wanted to try cooking quesadillas for a long time, but felt intimidated. This recipe had so many of my favorite foods, I had to try it. I loved the corn and summer squash! I added more heat by using a jalapeno pepper instead of the milder pablano pepper. I also would have added more of the chipolte chile powder for more zip, too. I think I would added 1/2 tsp. 1/8 didn’t do it for me. I served with rice and made it a Sunday afternoon dinner. I found that I didn’t use all the veggie mixture or the cheese – seemed too much. So I saved for leftovers. My husband loved it and has asked for it again soon. That’s approval for you! So here it is:

5 Tbs vegetable oil
1 c small-diced fresh,mild chiles (pablano) OR to add more heat, I used jalapeno chiles without seeds
1 11/2 cups small diced summer squash
Kosher salt and freshly ground peper
1 cup fresh corn kernels (2 medium ears)
1/8 tsp chipolte chile powder
1 cup diced tomato
1/4 cup chopped fresh cilantro
1 Tbs fresh lime juice
4 9″ tortillas
2 cups grated sharp Cheddar
Sour Cream optional

Fit a rack over a baking sheet and put the sheet in the oven. Heat to 200 degrees F.
In a large 12″ skillet, heat 1 Tbs of the oil over medium-high heat until hot. Add the chiles and cook, stirring until soft about 3-4 minutes.
Add the squash, season with salt and pepper, and cook, stirring, until the squash softens and starts to brown, 3 – 4 minutes. Stir in the corn and chipolte powder and cook for 2 minutes. Spoon into a bowl, let cool for a few minutes, and then fold in the tomato, cilantro, and lime juice. Season to taste with salt and pepper. Set aside 3/4 cup of the mixture.

Lay several layers of paper towel on a work surface. Wipe out the skillet, put it over medium-high heat, and add 1 Tbs of the oil. When it’s hot, put one tortilla in the pan. Quickly distribute 1/2 cup of the cheese evenly over one half of the tortilla and about a quarter of the remaining vegetable mixture over the other half. When the underside of the tortilla is browned use tongs to fold the cheese side over the vegetable side. Lay the quesadilla on the paper towels, blot for a few seconds, and then move it to the rack in the oven to keep warm while you cook the rest. Cut into wedges and serve with the reserved vegetable mixture and sour cream.

Leave a Reply

