Nectarine Upside Down Cake

My nectarine upside down cake (NUDC) was fun to make. I really felt in control and moved along quite nicely. I was well organized and timed everything well. I was happy with the process.

BUT

When I finally turned my NUDC over, the results wasn’t pretty. First, I was not so happy with the color. Looks like a blackened NUDC! I pulled it out of the oven when the toothpick came clean – so I was disappointed in how unattractive it looked. I sear it could have been a Halloween cake (which is a thought for next month).

Lake Nectarine forms in the center

Then I watched the center sink and a pool of butter and nectarine juice pooled in the center. I blotted it, but that didn’t help and I watched Lake Nectarine form. This really got me upset since I was already disappointed in the color, now I have to contend with erosion. I quickly cut a piece of the cake to form Nectarine Falls. This helped. And a slice actually looked better, with the exception of that awful color of the topping.  I did serve it.  And the cake and struesel turned out fabulous.  I loved the lemon flavor, the lightness of the cake and the crunch of the filling. So, I scraped off the top which was soggy beyond belief, and ate the cakey part. At least for a few slices! While I really don’t like upside down cakes, I was glad that I tried this one!

Looking somewhat better, slice by slice.

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Teresa on September 7, 2012 at 3:02 pm

    Love your Lake Nectarine and Nectarine Falls comments. Sorry the cake didn’t work that well for you. We loved the streusel and the lemony cake, too.

    Reply

  2. Lake Nectarine, huh? At least you have a sense of humor about it… Maybe the black topping was an “earthy” element 🙂
    Glad to hear the flavors were there.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

