Buttermilk Crumb Muffins

Pretty darn easy! No concerns, no worries, just a straightforward recipe. I liked them but wasn’t thrilled by them. They were not all that challenging to make and the flavor was good, but there wasn’t a WOW factor for me. That being said, it was a pretty challenging week here in New England and a comfort food like this one was not unwelcome. As you can see from the pictures, they were pretty flat on top – I don’t think I put in enough batter to have the muffin top factor (actually, that is resting above my jeans right now . . . ) But, I was able to pull them out of the cups (I used liners because I just didn’t want to add more oil/ shortening to the muffins) and they came out nicely. They were pretty good warm, but this morning they had that heavy, dead dough quality that day old muffins acquire. So I sent them with my husband to take to his staff meeting at work. My own experience with staff meetings is that one will eat anything to keep from having to respond or volunteer for extra tasks!

Later that night:  The Husband came home with the news that the muffins were a hit at work and disappeared. Then he added, “But they are used to those box coffee cakes so, I guess (my italics) these were a real treat!”

Hmmmm . . . I’m going with the compliment.

Buttermilk Crumb Muffins on Plate

Buttermilk Crumb Muffins Cooling
2 responses to this post.

  1. I liked the muffins the same day I baked them too…. but the next day not so much. Good idea sending them to work with your husband!

    Reply

  2. I did not care much for these either – in they went with the hubby to work as well!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

