Mocha Chocolate Chip Cookies

Mocha Chocolate Chips getting ready for the road

Mocha Chocolate Chips getting ready for the road

These cookies were great! And they traveled well too! My husband and I took a long weekend to Kentucky and I made these little guys and brought them along. I thought they would last the weekend and that we wouldn’t get started on them before we arrived in Lexington.  Since we had an early flight, I thought I would tuck them away in my shoulder carry on bag and cushion them with my coat. Eating chocolate early in the morning has a real ICK factor for me – something that goes away after I eat ‘stick to your ribs’ kind of food. So at 4:45 a.m. when we piled our bags into the car and before we had anything good (like eggs and toast) we began the game of :  ‘let’s just have one now and save the rest for later. . . ‘

On the way to the airport, we stopped at our gas station and got coffee and opened the bag of cookies. Once at the airport, we reasoned that it would be a good idea to have a couple more while we waited to check in our bags. I did offer the security officer if he wanted a cookie but he declined. Then while we were waiting to board, we had a couple more; because, well, I was reading Nora Roberts. Finally, because the airlines no longer give out bags of peanuts, we decided to have a couple more with that awful coffee they serve in those terrible styrofoam cups. The cookies didn’t make it past boarding our connecting flight in Charlotte.  All that was left were some cookie crumbs and two lonely bittersweet chips.

And at 8:12 a.m., we had those two chips on the plane to Lexington. . . with coffee.

13 responses to this post.

  1. Haha! I love this story! We loved these as well and I did consider having one for breakfast, but resisted.

    Reply

  2. Haha! I love this story! We loved these as well and I did consider having one for breakfast, but resisted.

    Reply

  3. Love this! Sounds like what happened to me and my batch… 🙂

    Reply

  4. Posted by Margaret on March 19, 2013 at 1:58 pm

    LOL! Next time, coffee from Starbuck’s at the gate and you’re all set!

    Reply

  5. LOL… great story … these cookies truly were delicious .. glad you liked them as well!

    Reply

  6. Your only mistake was that “gas station coffee” ha! ha! Actually, I didn’t think you can take homemade food through security at the airport??? hmm… Thanks for sharing!

    Reply

  7. Haha! Sounds like when I’m making dinner, and nibbles on these to get more, um, energy to do the cooking!

    Reply

  8. Okay, that was hilarious! Great post! Glad the cookies were such a big hit. 🙂

    Reply

  9. Great post. Your cookies were clearly irresistible.

    Reply

  10. Love your post! Especially the last two chips! We really enjoyed these as well.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

